Waiting is the hardest part

February 14, 2008

I once again find myself sitting in the North/Stockyards office watching the staffers stare at their computer screens, the volunteers stare at the staffers, and me typing away on my laptop. I really hope things pick up around here. There is a meeting tonite around 6 pm, and we will be discussing precinct caucus training. I don’t think the staffers will be involved with it though, so I am still unsure what they are supposed to be doing. I mean, we volunteers have been setting up and planning away, but we have no swag, no lists and no guidance from the campaign.

More below the fold….


Maybe I’m just being impatient. I know I’m not the only one. We don’t have phones yet but we do have voice mail (?!) and it’s full of people begging for something to do, for yard signs and t-shirts, for some kind of guidance. People keep walking in the door, signing in, giving their info to volunteer and then looking around wondering what is going on. And even in a room full of staffers, no one can tell them anything more then to check back later.

Fucking wonderful. Tens of millions of dollars and we have a bunch of twenty somethings hanging around like this is a coffee house. Seriously, what the hell is going on? Do these people not realize that HRC is in Texas already personally working the valley, getting face time with the Hispanic vote. Most non-inspiring.

No one can tell us anything. I have heard rumors of marches, of speeches, of future events, but no for sure anything.

Now, the staffers keep telling us they are accumulating, crunching, and preparing. Great, but the people walking in the door don’t want to here it. They want something to do now.

Errr.

Must breath. Things should pick up soon.

I hope.

