Other Shit

September 27, 2005

Well, its been a wee bit slow around here lately. There is a lot to talk about in the news, but all of it is pretty depressing. Let’s talk books instead.

I am finally reading 1984 from cover to cover. What a ride. You would think I would have read it already. The scary part for me is that none of it is surprising, and in fact most of it seems quite quaint. Orwell could never have envisioned the technological advances we have today. Though he does a great job showing how twisted “reality” is, I think he would be quite surprised to see some of the ways we modern folks have found to spy on each other.

Also reading The Island of Dr. Moreau by H. G. Wells. Good story, weird plot. I like it so far.

And since my multiple personalities require several books at once, I am also about to start The Jesus Incident by Frank Herbert (he wrote the Dune series). Hope it is a good read. I am a huge fan of his, and his son has done a great job continuing the Dune series.

Anyhow, anyone else reading anything other than blogs?

5 Responses to “Other Shit”


  1. Hmmm…i recently finished my fluff summer fun shit, R is for Richochet, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and the latest little series some workmates are feeding me, the #1 Ladies Detective Agency series.

    The next books in the que are Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela and The Essential Abraham Lincoln…his speeches, essays, letters, etc…along with the next #1LDA series, The Kalahari Typing School for Men.

    A couple of yard sale books I picked up recently are The Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson and The Poetry of Black America. Those aren’t the sit and read cover to cover type things, but I find they’ve been feeding me in other ways.

  2. monkey Says:

    Hey Heather.

    Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela and The Essential Abraham Lincoln both sound interesting. Any Harry Potter book is gold.

    Emily Dickinson huh? Not a fan myself. I once wrote a paper in high school about why I couldn’t stand her writings. Maybe I am not in touch enough with my inner goddess to get it.

    I have really drifted into sci-fi since switching my degree to engineering. But I still love history books the most. Especially anything about religion, which confuses me. I despise religions but can’t study them enough.

    You are right though, its time to switch to more non-fiction for the long treck through winter. I have The Prize (Oil Industry) on the night stand along with some Croatian history books (dad’s heritage). Plus several political oriented books Anna keeps pushing on me.

  3. monkey Says:

    the peotry of black america? modern slam?

    one book i recommend is “their eyes were watching god” by zora neale hurston. not peotry, but a look into the lives of black women in america (albiet 60+ years ago).

    The Kalahari Typing School for Men?

  4. Heather in SF Says:

    Harry Potter rules…’nuf said. 😉

    Can’t say I’m too much of a sci-fi fan, for fiction I tend to like more the detective, mystery, espionage stuff along with just plain good stories of all kinds. My nonfiction reading all depends on what my interest is at the moment and how “deep” I want to go! For example, a couple of books that took me a while to read include Che’s Bolivia Diaries and California Fault. Both interesting, but I didn’t whiz through them.

    Can’t really say I’m familiar enough with Dickinson to say one way or another, but I’d guess that I’m probably a little closer to my inner goddess than you might be. 😉

    The Poetry of Black America is actually an anthology of 20th Century poets, Langston Hughes, Audre Lourde, Alice Walker, Henry Dumas, etc. I’m really loving some of the stuff in there. Gotta say that it’s a lot easier read than Emily! 😉

    Here’s a good one from Langston Hughes:

    Dream Deferred

    What happens to a dream deferred?

    Does it dry up
    like a rasin in the sun?
    Or fester like a sore –
    And then run?
    Does it stink like rotten meat?
    Or crust and sugar over –
    like a syrupy sweet?

    Maybe it just sags
    like a heavy load.

    Or does it explode?

  5. monkey Says:

    i just noticed that i spelled poetry -peotry- this morning. should not type before coffee kicks in. great poem by the way. my favorite poet in kahlil gibran. and i was thrilled to learn recently that one of my favorite bloggers, juan cole of informed comment, does kahlil translations! i love juan a little more.

    i hear ya on the “how deep do you want to go” thing. sometimes i just want to get my toes wet, sometimes i feel the need to melt my brain.

    i don’t read general sci-fi, the series that go on forever. i mostly focus on stuff like frank herbert (who mixes sci-fi with social commentary) and arthur c. clarke (who mixes modern science with speculation about its future uses and developments).

    also been reading a lot of evolution based literature lately. interesting stuff, just wish i had a better scientific background to truly follow it.


Comments are closed.

