shit

December 15, 2004

Ok, so itís late and I’m a little drunk. Anyhow, I’m sitting here surfing and I came to a weird conclusion that I’m hoping is wrong. See, President Bush pushes faith-based crap. And one of his things is that religious organizations can discriminate in their hiring practices.


So I was cruzing through the offical portal to hell and I found this claim by ninny boy and crew(pdf) that the civil rights act of 1964 actually exempts religious organizations from equal rights hiring laws. Normally you can’t discriminate if you receive federal funding. But apparently religious groups can get away with it. Someone please tell me it ainít so.

EXEMPTION
SEC. 702. This title shall not apply to an employer with respect to the employment of aliens outside any State, or to a religious corporation, association, or society with respect to the employment of individuals of a particular religion to perform work connected with the carrying on by such corporation, association, or society of its religious activities or to an educational institution with respect to the employment of individuals to perform work connected with the educational activities of such institution.

Oh, and your tax dollars are funding abstinence programs. so fuck away!

