It figures…..

March 25, 2004

I was lucky enough to have had a delivery job during the Clinton impeachment trial because I could listen to the radio all day and keep up with what was going on. Now however I am missing another historic moment, the broadcasting of the 9-11 commission testimonies. Apparantly Richard Clark kicked some serious butt yesterday. I have only gotten the hi-lites, if someone knows where to find a transcript, let me know.

Am I the only one who has noticed that there are a lot of really well stated arguements against this mis-Administration, yet whenever the Republicans try to rebuttle its usually along the lines of “oh, we found this one obscure piece of paper that doesn’t really prove anything, but, it could if you fold the corner in, pull the tab and bam, a paper wookie.” Seriously, I have been trudging through the news like everyone else since 9-11 and I have this feeling that the folks in Washington are either playing us or they are retarded. With us or against us, bring it on, there should be limits to personal freedom: who are these peolpe? I cannot believe that educated people who have been in international business all their adult lives believe this shit? How can anyone believe the world is black and white? These folks have to know so much more than any of us will ever know, so I don’t buy the bullshit act we get through the box.

Which brings me back to my point. I am missing the dirt from folks who can say what they think because they no longer have to keep their jobs. I caught a bit of Albright’s testimony, and she is such an articulate women, I wish I could have heard it all. Maybe they will release the 9-11 commission dvd when its all over. Oh, and if you want to watch small minds at work, watch Faux News trip over themselves trying to defend the Chimp in charge. Clark was smart enough to have been appointed by Reagan, serve under every presidnt since, and now he is stupid, so sayith the Republicans. Partisan? The White house held up his book for 6 months due to security concerns, so it would have been out back in October had they let it fly. I understand the need for security, but to then immediatly turn and say Clark released it to mess with the election is crazy talk.

What really unnerves me is that our government sounds like the school yard bully right now. Fuck the global community’s opinions! They are pussies. Fuck the Amercan people’s opinions! They are just a focus group. Like the rest of us don’t give a shit about this country. Whatever. President Clinton got head and we all got fucked. Why wasn’t terrorism dealt with in the 90’s? One word: Monica. President Clinton couldn’t respond because if he did it was politics. Now the current president is lying his ass off, people are dying and somehow this is a moral, god save America issue. Bullshit. Our troops are dying so President Bush can get reelected plain and simple. Look at the reaction the White House had towards Spain: they get attacked, prove the government lied about it, democratically changed their government and somehow the terrorists win. Such simpathy, such compassion. I fear the White House will brand us all enemy combatants before the election so that only President Bush’s supporters can vote, then he could actually win all the votes just like Saddam!

4 Responses to “It figures…..”

  1. Robyn Says:

    Strangely, few people I met in Paris (and I met a bunch) wanted to talk politics with me. They were all glad that I don’t like Bush, but they wanted to talk about art and jazz, not all of the aforementioned political bullshit.

  2. anna Says:

    lucky robyn! =)

    nice point about monica, BTW monkey. seems to me the GOP is doubly responsible for this. had they not hamstrung clinton for that damned blowjob, maybe he would have had the political strength to push an afghanistan attack.

  3. Charles Says:

    I remember when Clinton sent the cruise missiles into the al Queda camps in Afghanistan and the Sudanese chemical plant. All the Republicans were going insane – saying it was just a distraction. “Wag the Dog!”, they said “It’s just like the movie ‘Wag the Dog!” Then they kept at it – saying that in THEIR America we wouldn’t try to be “the world’s policeman” . . . remember Dubya running on his “I won’t be a foreign interventionist” stand?
    But I suppose Clinton should have used his magical crystal ball and predicted 9-11, then he could have just stepped up the “War on Terror”, right?
    You can catch the testimony at:

    http://www.c-span.org/

    It’s kind of interesting. Clarke lays a lot of Blame on the Clinton and Bush I Administrations, too – but all we see when watching the “news” “highlights” is that he blames Dubya. Now while it’s clear he does blame Junior most of all for a weak policy (rightly so), he is non-partisan and non-biased (he in fact voted Republican in 2000.) Just an honest guy trying to do the right thing.
    Kerry had a great quote today. He said if Condi has time to go on “60 Minutes”, she should make time to testify before the 9-11 Commission for 60 Minutes, instead of hiding behind “Executive Privilege.”
    The Neo-Cons are in crisis mode. Dubya has built his reelection campaign around the “war on terror” and his public opinion polls on the topic are down 22% in four days! His numbers have actually dropped *after* Condi made the rounds on TV. I say keep it coming! He will be GONE in November!

  4. anna Says:

    charles i hope you’re right about him being gone. i just don’t credit most americans with being able to see through this bullshit unless the press actually starts to do their job. and i’m not holding my breath over that one.


Comments are closed.

